A historic look at the Heceta Head Lighthouse
Published: 03/02/2014  Updated: 08/08/2019
Circa 1938, Department of Interior, National Park Service
Circa 1938, Department of Interior, National Park Service  George A. Grant, Courtesy of National Archives Records Administration

Heceta Head's lighthouse was first lit in March of 1894, 205-feet above sea level and visible for over 21 miles.

Located between Florence and Yachats, the 56-foot watchtower is situated midway up the headland. Heceta remained an extremely isolated outpost until the 1930's when road crews arrived with their families and tents to construct Route 101, the Pacific Coast Highway.

In 1978, Heceta Head Light and Keepers Quarters were placed on the National Register of Historic Places for its architectural and engineering significance.

Badly deteriorated by more than a century of extreme weather and disrepair, the landmark was closed in 2011 for historic restorations. Reopening in 2013, the iconic Heceta Head Lighthouse has been returned to the way it originally looked in 1894.

Today, this stucco brick bastion is a working lighthouse; towering high above a stunningly scenic viewpoint. It is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the United States. Heceta Head Lighthouse State Scenic Viewpoint (a State Park) is open daily during high season and tours are available by appointment year-round. Heceta Head also offers bed and breakfast accommodations in the assistant light keepers house.
A historic look at the Heceta Head Lighthouse